PDA

View Full Version : Any downside to polishing the entire car with a light polishing pad, then go more aggressive if needed?

Bri26
06-01-2023, 01:14 PM
I'm just starting out and want to learn good technique, any downside (other than taking more time) to polishing the entire car with a light polishing pad, then go more aggressive if needed? Along those lines, is it okay to spot treat any bad areas or is it always best practice to redo an entire panel?

Don M
06-01-2023, 01:20 PM
I'm just starting out and want to learn good technique, any downside (other than taking more time) to polishing the entire car with a light polishing pad, then go more aggressive if needed? Along those lines, is it okay to spot treat any bad areas or is it always best practice to redo an entire panel?

The best advice I can give is that you ALWAYS want to start with the LEAST aggressive method(s) FIRST.

That being said, going around the whole car with a light polish IS NOT a bad idea. Depending on the condition of the car, it may be all you need to do to "fix" whatever issues you are looking to get rid of. If it doesn't fix what you're trying to get rid of, then step it up slightly by turning up the polisher to a slightly higher speed, OR use a more aggressive pad (with the same polish). Starting gentle will minimize risks and will help you get a feel for what you're doing.

Setec Astronomy
06-01-2023, 02:19 PM
What Don said, also, it's ok to "spot treat". If you do that, and it looks odd, then you can always do the rest of the panel, but it doesn't usually work out that way.

2black1s
06-01-2023, 02:26 PM
While doing as proposed would not have any negative effect on the vehicle, I see doing so as a complete waste of time and resources. Why would you go around the whole car just to find out that the results do not meet your expectations when you're finished?