PDA

View Full Version : Wheel coating recommendations for my situation

kantonburg
04-22-2023, 12:58 PM
For the past 4 or 5 days I think I've read every wheel coating thread on here. So forgive me for asking another. We just ordered a 2023 Honda Civic Sport Crystal Black with Black 18" Alloy wheels. When it comes in I want to coat the wheels. The paint is for another time. I've watched a bunch of The Guz's videos and read his reviews on here and Autopia.

This thread was a good one.
https://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/product-reviews/125312-wheel-coating-water-behavior-discussion.html?highlight=wheel

Now to my situation. I'll only be coating the face of the wheels. My wife and I drive 100 miles a day. 50 each way on the interstate.
Since they're new my process would be
Wash
Decon with an iron remover
Would clay be necessary here?
Prep with Panel Wipe or Eraser
Coat

I know Guz recommends CarPro DLUX for the price. Since this is my first time coating I'd like something a little more forgiving. The thread above is from 2019 and he's since used Adams Graphene on wheels. It's more expensive than DLUX or C5, but has anyone else used it and how does it hold up to heat? It says for wheels, but they all will say anything to sell it.

Also since I'm coating the face would a product like Geyon Wet Coat be ok to use to spray behind on the barrels and calipers and would it hurt if it was sprayed on the already coated face?

Thanks for everyone's help

Klasse Act
04-22-2023, 01:03 PM
Gyeon Wet Coat is a MUST for maintence after the coating. Based off of 100 miles a day, I'd say once a month would be the minimum.

There's other products like Gyeon Wet Coat, like 303 Touchless Sealant and their new product which would work instead of a true wheel coating if cleaned/ maintained/boosted on a monthly basis IMO.

Sent from my SM-G991U using Tapatalk

kantonburg
04-22-2023, 04:53 PM