PDA

View Full Version : Anyone switch to the ONE-bucket method?

Pages : [1] 2 3

JPW
04-02-2023, 01:02 PM
I've been using the two-bucket method for washing cars for many years. However, I'm starting to notice on YouTube that many detailers have moved to the one-bucket method whereby they no longer use a wash mitt and instead dump like 20 microfiber towels in the wash bucket. They use 1 microfiber towel per section of the vehicle and then put the towel aside. They rinse and move to the next section and grab a fresh microfiber towel. Rinse and repeat.

I understand the logic in it. Basically, your chance for scratches is reduced because you are using a fresh microfiber towel every time whereas with the two-bucket method you are trying to clean out the mitt each time. Yes, there are some initial front-end costs you'll need to pay for all the towels, but doesn't seem too significant.

So, my question isn't around which one does a better job (seems like the one-bucket would be better), but in efficiency and time spent. At first I thought the one-bucket method would be much faster and it seems like when you are actually washing the car it would be, but what about the back-end time once you are done? I don't wash my good mitts in a washing machine. I rinse them thoroughly once I'm done and hang it to dry. Done. I'm wondering about what people are doing with all these microfiber towels once they are done washing the vehicle. Are they really rinsing each one out to ensure they don't have any dirt in them? Seems like a lot of time. OR are they throwing them all in the washing machine and letting it do the work. Still, more time, but maybe less than the overall time used with the two-bucket method?

Just seeking out others who might have tried the one-bucket method and their opinion. Thanks.

craigdt
04-02-2023, 01:13 PM
I use the one bucket method when I foam cannon and when I rinseless wash.

Gasp.

Works for me.