PDA

View Full Version : Rupes pad stall

MountainBound
10-29-2022, 08:40 PM
Hi AG, been into paint correction for 10+ years, used a pc 7424xp for the longest time and have switched over to a LHR15 iii and Rupes mini lhr75e. I love the smooth action these provide. What I don’t like is the pad stalling I get. Cars tend to have more curves and edges than ever and I find myself fighting to keep the pad spinning. I’m no pro and am always trying to learn but I feel like I have a good grasp on paint correction. I have even taken autogeeks bootcamp when Mike was teaching it. I’ve maintained my polishers properly and only use Rupes pads and polishes. I’ve watched all the Bigfoot 101 videos including the one on pad stall. Rupes seems to be one of the best if not the best polishers on the market but I’m wondering if I would be best to switch over to a different brand like flex or go with a forced rotation. I seem to run both on speed 5 or 6 most of the time to combat the stalling issue even though Rupes recommends speed 3-4 most the time. The tool is effectively useless at those speeds unless I’m doing a flat hood or trunk. I’ve been using both for a couple years now. Any input?

noorth
10-29-2022, 10:01 PM
What pads are you using? The rupes pads have a larger foot print. I've read many times that the rupes machines are under powered.

I have the first gen. griots G15 its a tank. It will stall but it doesn't take long to get used to it(correct it). Its a 900w motor.

dlc95
10-29-2022, 10:22 PM
Check this out.

Polishing Myths, BUSTED! - [RUPES C.O.R.E. Series Webinar] - YouTube (https://youtu.be/4yDU4CWAISU)

They touch on pad stall. It isn't the end of the world.

luckydawg
10-29-2022, 10:35 PM
There aren't any free spinning orbitals that wont stall, some are worse than others, pad selection is very important. Your probably going to have to keep the speed up to the 4-5 range and lighten up a bit on your pressure- otherwise your going to need to go forced rotation or rotary.