PDA

View Full Version : What speed on the DA do you guys use with a clay pad?

Bosko
09-28-2022, 04:10 PM
Griots 6" clay pad recommends a speed of (1) on the DA when doing a decon..

Seems slow to me....thoughts?

PaulMys
09-28-2022, 04:31 PM
Speed 1 or 2.

You're not trying to correct, just pull out bonded contaminates. :)

The D
09-28-2022, 04:32 PM
I have very little experience with this compared to anyone else here but I have a question that may actually answer your question. How many rpm’s do you spin clay when it’s done manually?

Bosko
09-28-2022, 04:36 PM
I have very little experience with this compared to anyone else here but I have a question that may actually answer your question. How many rpm’s do you spin clay when it’s done manually?

Good point....I think it's more about keeping up the arm speed as if you were using a bar

The D
09-28-2022, 08:51 PM
Once more, I’m probably the last person here to actually listen to. I’d be more concerned about keeping it lubricated properly instead of what speed it’s at

Bosko
09-28-2022, 08:52 PM
Once more, I’m probably the last person here to actually listen to. I’d be more concerned about keeping it lubricated properly instead of what speed it’s at

thats what she said.......:D

Lance Mark
09-29-2022, 09:29 AM
I'm here to learn, guys

I really enjoy clay barring a vehicle with a wad of clay and some lube, it appears to be a really effective method....i use plenty of lube, check the clay and pick out particulates frequently, and I twist and mead the bar regularly to make sure I have a nice clean surface to do the job....again, call me weird. but I love the process...when I pull a wad of clay off the surface, and find 5 or 6 little specks that need to be picked out, that just twists my throttle :)

I am open to a new method, if I can get a better outcome, can someone help me with the advantages of using a machine for the clay barring part? I've got to think an obvious pickup would be speed :)

Bruno Soares