PDA

View Full Version : I thought I knew how to detail?!?

slimboogie
04-21-2008, 04:36 PM
So I just happened to find this forum while I was surfing the one for Acura's (AcuraZine - The Acura Forum - Welcome Acura CL, Acura RL, Acura TL, Acura TSX, and Acura RDX Owners and Enthusiasts! (http://www.acurazine.com)) and I came across a link that directed me to Autogeek's. I am completely blown away. I thought I knew a little bit about detailing but I guess not. So now I need some serious help. I'm new to this forum but not new to the forum process so I've done my standard searches and readings for the last 18 hours. Now I need some guidance. This is what I have in my garage (currently using) and from what I've read, I think it all has to go:
10" orbital buffer from autozone?!?
Meguiar's Cleaner Wax
Meguiar's NXT 2.0 Wax
Meguiar's Car Wash
Assorted applicator pads and a ton of MF towels

So as a beginner, I'm going to go with a Porter Cable (or a UDM if it gets back in stock within the next day) and as far as waxes and cleaners go. I think I'm going to start off with the Pinnacle XMT line. I think I have a good understanding of the pads but definitely need to do some more reading. I have a 2004 Acura TL and what I thought I have been doing to maintain it has kept it in good condition (I thought). After reading the forums and going back out to re look at my car, I definitely noticed fine swirl marks and water spots all over. So hopefully this week, I will go the DA and pinnacle route and see what that does for me. Thanks!

ScottB
04-21-2008, 05:10 PM
Welcome ....

heatgain
04-21-2008, 06:00 PM