PDA

View Full Version : G9 + G8 combo question

ToroInu
12-13-2021, 06:10 PM
Hello All,

I purchased a g9 awhile back and while I loved it, the 6in pads felt a tad too big for all the edges and corners on my 2019 Audi RS5. I recently purchased a g8 mini to resolve the issue so I can better get on the corners/edges of the body.

However, I’m currently debating if it’s worth switch from a 6in backing to a 5in backing plate to get even more “tighty.” Im not really too invested in terms of 6in pads but I do plan to repoilish my car within the next few months and I’m looking to purchase some more pads(Urofiber/LC/boss, all of which I don’t own any).

My question is should I keep the 6in or go with the 5in?

noorth
12-13-2021, 06:18 PM
I'm not a pro by any stretch but 5" pads seem to be much more popular then 6" for DA's.

In fact, the first generation G15 came with a 5" backing plate. I love that machine lol I have a G8 too, which is neat, but i really like my G15. :D

And you can probably use either size and get excellent results.

Finally, i use the 2 inch backing plate on the G8 more then the 3 inch now after 10 -12 hours using the machine. Not much i confess. :D

MisterSnoop
12-13-2021, 07:02 PM
The 5" backing plate will pay for itself if you're buying enough pads. If you do, go with the Griot's vented backing plate.

dlc95
12-13-2021, 09:06 PM
It's nice having both 5" and 6" pads available.

I switch to the 6" on the Porter Cable 7424 when working with that tool on the bigger panels of larger vehicles, but the 5" is like having it on cruise control. It's a boy to use.

PaulMys
12-14-2021, 05:56 PM
The 5" backing plate will pay for itself if you're buying enough pads. If you do, go with the Griot's vented backing plate.

It's nice having both 5" and 6" pads available.

I switch to the 6" on the Porter Cable 7424 when working with that tool on the bigger panels of larger vehicles, but the 5" is like having it on cruise control. It's a boy to use.