PDA

View Full Version : Sonax PNS - multiple coats?

Pages : [1] 2 3

Icarus
10-17-2021, 04:27 AM
I'm going to be compounding, polishing and then applying Sonax PNS to my car this week. I've never used it before. Will be applying with a foam pad.
I was wondering though if there is any benefit of doing 2 coats with it? This is going on a phantom black tricoat pearl (metallic) car (my 2014 Chrysler 300 AWD 5.7L).
Thanks for any advice or tips!

R/TED
10-17-2021, 06:33 AM
No second cost needed. Take your time with first coat and you’ll be fine. I applied PNS to my daughters car in April 2020 and maintained it with Sonax Brilliant Shine Detailer every 3 months or so. Water is still beading almost as good as it was when I first applied it. Great stuff, very underrated product.
Only need one or two light sprays per panel. Spray a good amount onto foam applicator and spread like you would a wax or sealant. Wait about a minute and buff off. Don’t over do it when buffing off. It will feel a bit sticky or not quite as slick as a wax or sealant. That’s the characteristic of the product. Good luck

Markymapo
10-18-2021, 08:18 AM
Not a big fan of PNS ( one coat) as bird bombs eat eat right through it in no time). If I am at work and car gets bird bombed I find PNS provides light protection. Yes, I know you are suppose to remove bird bombs immediately but sometimes that is not practical. I have switched to ceramic coatings which can handle easy wipe off of bird bombs that have sat a whole day on the car. Sure you can reapply PNS easily so up to you on the protection you want. Just my 2 cents.

Bobby B.
10-18-2021, 08:48 AM
Only one coat is needed for the Sonax Polymer Net Shield. Great product!

Sonax Polymer Net Shield, sonax polymer netshield, sonax profiline polymer netshield (https://www.autogeek.net/sonax-polymer-net-shield.html)

Bobby B.
10-18-2021, 08:54 AM