PDA

View Full Version : New car prep in a chip shortage world

BlkGS
08-09-2021, 11:35 AM
Howdy all,

We are looking at a new car later on this year, and by all chances our new car has been built and is sitting outside the factory waiting on chips.

On new cars I know the expectation is that they'll need minimal prep, but what about a new car that's sat for 6 to 12 months waiting on parts?

My plan is to ceramic coat the vehicle, as it will be a large Suv, and my wife's daily driver with all the fun stuff that comes with that. Sprinkler water, bird droppings, relentless FL sun, etc are all to be expected, so hopefully a ood ceramic coating will make keeping it up a little easier.

Any thoughts on a situation like this?

Odrapnew
08-09-2021, 12:47 PM
I'm no expert, but I'm guessing the answer will be: It depends.

The car could be sitting in the middle of a dry parking lot, never see rain or ever touched by someone, so it could just need a quick decon wash and prep.

Or, it could be 'hammered' due to environmental and human factors and need a full correction.

I don't think you'll really know until you see it.

The Guz
08-09-2021, 04:22 PM
Do you know for sure the car is going to sit in waiting for parts? If not then it’s a non issue and you can proceed with prepping for a ceramic coating wen you get the car.

PaulMys
08-09-2021, 04:47 PM
I would go the full-decon route regardless.

Even if the car has not sat outside of the factory waiting on chips (modules, actually), it is still subjected to rail dust from the railroad shipping, and horrible road grime from the car haulers.

And that is not even factoring in bird bombs, overspray, or industrial fall-out.

I work for a dealer, and one of my main jobs is to inspect and stock in all new arrivals.

Believe me when I tell you, that none of them roll off the truck even remotely resembling "clean".