PDA

View Full Version : Can't decide on wheel cleaner

Pages : [1] 2

crash93ssei
04-13-2008, 02:21 PM
I recently made a big purchase here and I am VERY happy with what I received. I ordered the Four Star Ultimate Gel Wheel Cleaner and I was quite impressed with it, but I don't know how it compares to other brands other then OTC as I am still somewhat new to all of this.

Well, the Four Star is a bit expensive, and I am looking at checking out some cheaper alternatives that work just as good.

Here are some of the ones I am considering:
DP Gel Wheel Cleaner
Megs Wheel Brightener
Poor Boys Spray & Rinse

I might try P21s in the future, but for now, it is a bit expensive for me.

I am also not to sure about the wheel brightener because of the acid.
I do have a question on the PB S&R though, I have read that it is citric acid based, does that make it safer, health wise and rim finish wise then the Megs wheel brightener?

I am doing this as a hobby for now, mostly weekends and such... just having fun with it and learning more with every car I do.

Any help would surely be appreciated.

ScottB
04-13-2008, 02:32 PM
save yourself some grief and get the P21S. The Poorboys and Megs offerings are far to powerful for normal use IMO. DP aint bad however ...

crash93ssei
04-13-2008, 03:03 PM
Another thing is that probably all of the cars that I will be doing have likely NEVER had the wheels properly cleaned, and will have alot of miles on them. That is why I was liking the stronger cleaner.

What if I used the PB S&R the first time to restore, then something like DP for upkeep? As I said above, I am not really interested in the P21s right now because of the price.

phillystyle
04-13-2008, 05:02 PM
surfcity beyond steel wheel cleaner is nothing short of amazing

i have tried all of the above mentioned cleaners

if you really need heavy duty, use poorboys
but surfcity might just surprise you.

Driven Auto Detail
04-13-2008, 05:17 PM