PDA

View Full Version : 2017 Kia Forte, hard or soft paint?

Pages : [1] 2

Icarus
05-22-2021, 01:07 AM
I wanted to give my moms car a clean up as its covered in swirls from her car wash run thrus, lol...
Anyone know off-hand if these cars (2017 Kia Forte) have hard or soft paint?
Thanks!

glen e
05-22-2021, 04:30 AM
Mid-soft…..

Klasse Act
05-22-2021, 05:38 AM
I too would say mid-soft. I have a 2018 Hyundai Elantra Sport and when I did paint correction last June before applying paint coating it was easy to make perfect[emoji931]

Sent from my SM-G991U using Tapatalk

Icarus
05-22-2021, 01:27 PM
Cool good to know, thanks all. I'm still learning this stuff so a base line for me to go from and what I can expect before I do a test spot etc is great, thanks!

Icarus
06-12-2021, 02:41 PM
Well, I cleaned my moms car and started on correcting it a bit.

I started with a medium cut B&S orange euro foam pad and Meguiars Ultimate Compound. Tried a test spot on the roof and it didn't do much at all to the swirls and nothing to the random scratches in the paint, only a bit to the common spider web swirls.
So I stepped up to a supposed heavy cut B&S yellow euro foam pad and the same UC and it got rid of more of the swirls (maybe about 60-65% total,) but still almost nothing to any of the scratches. You can still see lots of spider web swirls. The scratches seem minor, I can't feel the vast majority of them with my fingernail at all. She did brush a bush on the one side and I know the ones I can feel I most likely won't be able to get rid of, but hoped it still might do better then this. :( I even tried some of the Sonax CutMax I just got on the yellow pad and still didn't do much better, only a bit better then the yellow pad and UC... I usually use speed 4 on my GG9 when doing my own Chrysler 300, and even tried bumping it up a lil to 5...