PDA

View Full Version : Old newbie here - appreciate your thoughts and advice...

restorick
05-21-2021, 02:21 PM
Hello all,

As I get closer to retirement, I'm trying to educate myself on the various products for taking care of your car. My vehicles are nice, but not show quality. I just want to be able to protect them from the elements and help preserve them from the harsh Wisconsin winters.

I know wax on, wax off. That may work fine on my wife's Mustang, but for my Sierra it would be a bit of a bear. So that said, do I dive into the acrylic pool and take my chances or stick with what I know and deal with the reality that I'll need to reapply every 6 weeks or so.

Thanks in advance - really appreciate this forum!

Rick

Texchappy
05-21-2021, 02:34 PM
6 weeks isn’t super long by protection standards today so just about anything will meet your needs. Are you looking for the easiest to apply?

Also, welcome!

restorick
05-21-2021, 02:54 PM
Thanks Texchappy.

Easy is preferred. But I'm also inclined to buy once, cry once. So if a product is significantly better and requires extra effort, I'll definitely consider it.

Thanks again!
Rick

glen e
05-21-2021, 02:59 PM
It can still be “wax on wax off” if you want, but I haven’t done that for years, now it’s “spray on wipe off”. Most of the new sprays that are out there are significantly easier to apply And last 4 to 6 months. Which is a lot longer than the old waxes most people are used to ….a few sprays that everybody likes here are the 303 graphene spray, blackfire SI02 spray and Griots 3 in 1 ceramic spray. Surf through the threads here you’ll find all three mentioned and some good reviews in the product section.

Texchappy
05-21-2021, 03:17 PM
Glen’s suggestions are great. One of the easiest that I’ve used is Optimum Optiseal. It’s wipe on and walk away. It will last at least the six weeks you said and probably a bit longer.