PDA

View Full Version : Ceramic Second Layer = How much Gain Gloss or Longevity or Mostly Placebo

Fallguy007
05-18-2021, 06:06 PM
Know a second layer ensures coverage but how much does a second layer add in additional gloss or durability (avalonking).

I am not a professional, just an enthusiast. Know sealants layer and have done that (duragloss), this is my first foray into ceramic.

Prep work (wash/decon, clay, buff, ipa wipedown) is enough of a chore itself would like to get away with just one complete coat of ceramic (unless significant gains can be made by second coat. Daily driver (challenger).

Regards,

P.S. how does wiping a second coat on a mere 1-2hrs after the first coat of ceramic not mess with/disturb the first coat. Is the first coat so locked in at 1-2 hrs that coat #2 doesn't disrupt/smudge/smear/disturb coat #1 in any bad way/fashion. Thinking 1 coat with close monitoring to make sure nothing missed during application might actually yield best results. Or no problem with 2nd coat and should go for it.

Bruno Soares
05-18-2021, 08:49 PM
It adds about 10 to 20%, not double like one would expect. It’s mostly to guarantee you didn’t miss a spot from the 1st coat. It’s easy to miss a spot and chances are on second go you don’t miss the same spot again.

General Toner
05-18-2021, 09:37 PM
Just finished two coats on the clown car using blackfire pro ceramic. Wheels are off as will be coating them later in the week. First time using this coating, much easier for me to tell when ready to wipe vs cquk3 was for other 3 cars in the garage.

The Guz
05-18-2021, 10:40 PM
Best to follow the manufacturers directions. If they call for two then apply two. If it says one with an optional second then you can do one. And if there is no information about applying a second layer after a given amount of time then one is more than likely enough. But always follow up with the manufacturer.