PDA

View Full Version : Is it possible to clean with just a foam cannon soak and rinse?

Pages : [1] 2

jem7sk
05-13-2021, 11:22 AM
I just polished out my 2014 silver Subaru Impreza with 3D Speed and a week later I topped it with a coat of FK1000P. The paint is nice and slick. I've never used a Foam Cannon before but could I get away with just soaking the car in foam and letting it dwell for a short time and then rinse it or do I still need to do a 2BM wash? I don't understand the need for a foam cannon if you still have to do 2BM.

This car is my DD that sits outside 24/7 on the Space Coast of Florida.

I'd really like to maintain this finish as long as possible with a method that is quick and easy.

Klasse Act
05-13-2021, 11:34 AM
When my car is just dusty/pollen I do this very thing w/o a problem[emoji106][emoji362][emoji118]

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

2black1s
05-13-2021, 11:43 AM
From my experience... Once a vehicle has any kind of road film on it, it will then need some type of mechanical intervention, i.e., a conventional wash of some nature, to get it absolutely clean.

A foam cannon and rinse will remove the "loose" stuff, but the road film will need some mechanical agitation to completely remove it.

Bill D
05-13-2021, 11:47 AM
When my car is just dusty/pollen I do this very thing w/o a problem[emoji106][emoji362][emoji118]

Same here except I use a foam gun. As long as the vehicle is LSP’d you can get a perfectly clean car granted the car was only lightly dirty.

DetailZeus
05-13-2021, 12:03 PM
If you have a spot-free system that could work for a while. Eventually you'll get a film build up on the car. Another option is foam, rinse, then "dry" the car by doing a waterless wash. It should take fewer towels and you wouldn't have to be as careful as if you did a normal waterless wash. Look up the video "15 Minute Car Wash: Water vs No Water" by Larry Kosilla.