PDA

View Full Version : Need a second eye on my process

Pages : [1] 2

butterbeer
03-17-2021, 07:02 PM
Hi all, first time detailing noob here. I haven't even bought any products or tools, but wanted to get your eyes on my process and make sure I'm not missing anything. I will be detailing my S2000 in case that speaks to the pad choice and softness of paint.

1. Wash with dish soap (Dawn)
2. Clay bar w/ soapy water (Dawn is good)
3. Iron-X (is this step necessary? Is this just double checking my work on clay bar or is there something that this catches that a clay bar doesn't?)
4. Compounding/Polishing:
a. 3D One: Prime pads each time then use 4-5 pea sized dots per ~20" x 20" section
b. Griots G9 using 6" backing plate: Go over the car completely once with orange pads, then again once with white pads: 3-4 passes total, alternating between horizontal and vertical (One pass is 1 horizontal and 1 vertical)
i. Lake County Orange CSS Light Cutting Foam Pad - Use 4 pads
ii. Lake County White CSS Polishing Foam Pad - Use 4 pads
5. Wipe down car with MF towel and spray with 50/50 mix of distilled water and 70% Isopropyl alcohol. Spray/wipe down the car twice
6. Apply Cquartz UK- apply second coat 1 hour in or wait 24 hours to apply
7. Spray/wipe down with Reload

Question I had...I was thinking of just doing a true 'one-step' as in just using orange pads and not the white pads. Is that fine if I don't see any marring from the orange pads?

PaulMys
03-17-2021, 07:10 PM
Welcome to AGO. Cool screen name. :)

1. Forget the dish soap. Dawn is for dishes.

What exactly are you working on? New or old/neglected paint? What is the condition of the paint? Any process will always be dictated by the condition.

Any pics you can provide will help tremendously.

Bill D
03-17-2021, 07:17 PM
Do please leave the Dawn in the kitchen.

MisterSnoop
03-17-2021, 07:23 PM
3 before 2

butterbeer
03-17-2021, 07:27 PM
Haha thanks! Glad to be here. Ahh yes I'm an idiot for not saying my intention.