PDA

View Full Version : '17 Street Glide

Lance Mark
03-11-2021, 05:03 PM
Hello all. New to the site here. I've been learning quite a bit about the detailing world on another site.

Until now, I've basically hosed the bike down, covered it S-100 and rinsed and dried and sprayed some Harley Gloss on it. Next wash it gets is the two bucket method.

I feel like I'm at the paralysis by analysis stage. I'm pretty overwhelmed with choices.

I'm a complete noob and what I'm hoping to do is learn how to properly clean and protect my bike. I've already put about 40k miles on it in 2 years, so it's going to see some wear and it won't be perfect, but I'd like it to look as good as it can look. There are areas that need polishing and I'd like to learn to do that myself. Lot's of horror stories out there.

Looking at the Griot G8 and G9. Most if not all of the parts will be removed and polished on a table, so I'm not concerned about the G9 being too big for a bike.

I've heard Wolfgang products make products that are easier to use for noobs. This is where I'm hung up.

I had planned on trying Reset to wash it, and then testing to see if needed to be clay barred. If i need to clay bar it, there are a lot of options there. :(

So many choices...

2black1s
03-11-2021, 06:33 PM
I have two Harley's and given the choice of polishers that you are considering, it would be the G8 everytime. There's nothing on a Street Glide large enough and flat enough to warrant the G9. The G8 is the better tool for your application.

The G8 will perform better on every part of your bike except the tops of the saddle bag lids and the saddle bag sides. Those are the only two areas I can think of where the G9 will perform as well as the G8.

The Guz
03-11-2021, 09:25 PM
My advice would be to ceramic coat it. My brother used to have a Harley and the black paint was soft.

If you go with Rest just keep in mind it has the potential to degrade waxes and sealants. May want to consider Meguiar’s Hyperwash.