PDA

View Full Version : Paint Correction? or Just Seal and Wax?

Pages : [1] 2 3

kolop
02-07-2021, 01:22 PM
Hi,

Newbie here and I am looking for Guidance/ Advice/ Product List/ Check lists, ect.

My car needs paint correction, it has swirls, and etching, you can feel the etching with finger nail, some permanent damage from fall out which cannot be corrected. I want to DIY. So realistically I will start with the basics. Correct me if I am wrong but I think the best approach would be prepare the car for Sealant and Wax and then Seal and Wax it, so I think the steps would be

wash car
iron X
tar remover
clay bar
wash again
hand dry
apply sealant
apply glaze
apply wax

I think paint correction is too much work now. I think I NEED to seal up the paint to protect it though.

So, I am looking for confirmation, in general, am I on the right track? Prepare, wax, and maintain now, then paint correction later during summer?

Can you help me make a check list and product list?

Do I need glaze? Do I even need to wax it? Could I just apply Sealant for now?

How many microfiber towels do I need total? How many to wash and dry my car? How many to apply Sealant and Wax. Do I need to buy the premium ones, or can use cheap ones for wheels and such?

Its my daily driver but I want to get it clean and protected now.

As far as maintenance I will hand wash once a week.

I think I could get it done for under $500. I might even borrow the DA from the detail guy at work to save some money for now. I asked him if he wanted to work on my car but he said no! Too much work for him, I think.

I guess I want help making a purchase today too. Here is a list so far.

car wash kit
Microfiber towels
DA polisher kit with sealant, wax ect
a couple brushes for the wash bucket (or not, and save $)
iron x
tar remover
clay bar

I want to try to buy everything in one shot, so suggestions would be appreciated. Suggestion on what to buy "if you can" vs what you NEED might be helpful.