PDA

View Full Version : Intro and questions on getting started

Roborep1
12-08-2020, 12:51 PM
Hello everyone,

Thank you for this forum and all the great info you all contribute. As someone new this website and forum have been a tremendous help to getting started.

I am not a professional detailer so I guess you could call me a driveway enthusiast. 25 years ago when I was a younger man I worked for a small private charter airline cleaning and detailing a variety of planes as the fleet returned and before the next day. I also did company cars or waxed the hanger floors while the fleet was out for the day. I suppose that's where my obsession started :). Autodetailing is always something that was zen for me and I need more of that in my life right now. I have watched 100's of hours of YouTube vids, this site, and read a lot of info in the last few months. Amazing how much has evolved.

I recently purchased an RV with Gel Coat and a Ram 2500 Black Night Edition (black wheels, grill, badging, etc). Both I would like to take care of as they were large investments. I will not be able to garage the truck for a few months (next spring) and I live in the northeast. I have a hose hook up inside the insulated garage and central vac as well, but its not a wash bay. Despite our weather we have plenty of days even in the winter where a wash is very possible.

What I have;

Buckets
Microfibers, microfiber mop on pole, mitts, waffle towels, wheel brushes, microfiber drying towel
Foam cannon and 2800 2.3gpm Gas pressure washer
Had a 10" orbital buffer but I think I threw it out with waxes and compounds that were 15+ years old
I was gifted a chemical guys kit which has a grit guard, snow foam, diablo wheel gel, butter wet wax, glass cleaner, speed wipe