PDA

View Full Version : Help! What am I doing wrong?

jazzwalker
11-02-2020, 11:50 AM
Hello all!

I’m new to the detailing world this year and just do it for fun on my own cars. Lately I’m noticing yellow stains on my wheels. It’s on my expedition and my wife’s pilot. So it’s something that I’m causing. I wash the wheels with super clean 5:1. I rinse, spray on the cleaner, agitate the wheels with a soft brush and use a stiffer brush for the tires and then rinse off.

So, what am I doing wrong and how do I fix it?

Thank you for any help!

hoyt66
11-02-2020, 11:56 AM
Sounds right. Are you sure this is a result of your process? Maybe something you and your wife are driving up against or you are rubbing something against both vehicles. I recently noticed green transfer on my wifes white fusion and then again on the steps of my f150. Figured out it was from my wash buck. Being careless as I rolled them around the cars.

jazzwalker
11-02-2020, 12:01 PM
Sounds right. Are you sure this is a result of your process? Maybe something you and your wife are driving up against or you are rubbing something against both vehicles. I recently noticed green transfer on my wifes white fusion and then again on the steps of my f150. Figured out it was from my wash buck. Being careless as I rolled them around the cars.

Since it's on both vehicles I'm assuming it's me. I've always used the swirl o matics to clean my cars in the past and I've never seen it before.

2black1s
11-02-2020, 12:22 PM
I would suspect whatever cleaner you are using to be the culprit. It's probably staining the clear-coat.

The fix... try a polish to see if it will remove the stains. If not, then you're probably SOL. Time may fade the staining but other than waiting I don't know what you could do.

In the meantime, I would change the cleaner. Personally, I just use my normal car wash solution for general cleaning of the wheels. Wheel cleaners only when that doesn't work.

oneheadlite
11-02-2020, 12:30 PM