PDA

View Full Version : Can I use Collinite 845 after I coated rims with Carpro DLux Quartz?

SToti
10-28-2020, 04:55 PM
Sorry if this is a stupid question, but I’m no professional detailer.

It’s the first time I used Carpro DLux on my mag wheels.

I was just wondering, after the DLux is properly cured if it will be worth it to wax with Collinite 845. Or am I just wasting my time and defeating the properties of DLux?

Many thanks.

acuRAS82
10-28-2020, 05:32 PM
Defeating the properties of DLUX in my opinion. Plus 845 might be so solvent strong that it impacts DLUX negatively (don’t know that for sure). But either way I think the wheels will stay cleanest and deflect break dust best with DLUX being the interface to the world.

PaulMys
10-28-2020, 05:40 PM
Defeating the properties of DLUX in my opinion. Plus 845 might be so solvent strong that it impacts DLUX negatively (don’t know that for sure). But either way I think the wheels will stay cleanest and deflect break dust best with DLUX being the interface to the world.

Agreed. I would use one or the other, not both.

57Rambler
10-28-2020, 07:16 PM

:iagree:

845 contains naptha.

SToti
10-28-2020, 08:16 PM
Many thanks to all of you for the valuable info.

I really appreciate your guidance and I will definitely use it.

Best regards.

The Guz
10-28-2020, 08:22 PM
Put a second coat if anything else. No need for 845.

Coatingsarecrack
10-29-2020, 02:59 AM
Just use reload or some other type of ceramic sealant. griots ceramic 3-1 is great

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Desertnate
10-29-2020, 07:19 AM
Concur with everyone else. Stick with the coating.

845 is a great sealant and I used it for a number of years, but it's no coating. It won't last as long and it doesn't have the great water behavior properties of a coating. I also found it tended to attract dust/pollen, so in this instance you'd be defeating the whole purpose of coating your wheels.