PDA

View Full Version : Worst Case scenario for Brake Dust! Need Advice

Pages : [1] 2 3

TheLearningMechanic
10-17-2020, 02:15 PM
Hey everyone, joined about a week ago and this is my first post. I am really thankful if someone could educate more than what I could search on the internet.

I have a 2003 Toyota Sequoia as my daily driver and the rims are stained bad with brake dust, rust and flaking.

I am new to car repair and detailing so I would really appreciate some guidance and help on this.

All I know is that I have to wax the rims after a good cleaning to seal the finish (not sure if my rims may need an extra step). At worst, I understand if I need to get new rims entirely but wanna see what I can do before that.

Firstly, what type of cleaner should I use because of the flaking: Aluminum coated or non-aluminum coated?

IH8SPM
10-17-2020, 02:26 PM
Welcome to forum. Ill leave the recommendations for someone else but man what a great before and after this is going to be. Don't rush, get all the supplies and take pictures galore.[emoji1417][emoji1417]

Sent from my SM-N986U using Tapatalk

Klasse Act
10-17-2020, 02:34 PM
I haven't had to use something as powerful as Mequiars wheel brightener but this looks like a GREAT candidate [emoji362] Once you clean them really good, get yourself some 303 Touchless Sealant to spray on them after you've rinsed them. After the wheel has been cleaned really good and the wheel is still wet you simply spray some on the rim, enough for coverage, wait about 20-30 seconds and rinse off. You'll be amazed at the water beading and the next time you wash the truck and get to cleaning the rims, it will be that much easier, well, as long as they don't get THAT bad again. Finally a great wheel cleaner for maintence cleaning is called Brake Buster and the preferred method for use is through a foaming sprayer and works great at 4:1.

Welcome to cult... urrrr, forum [emoji1]

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

Rsurfer