PDA

View Full Version : LIVE Detailing Class: How to Machine Sand, Cut, Buff & Ceramic Coat a Gelcoat Boat



Mike Phillips
08-26-2020, 02:28 PM
LIVE Detailing Class: How to Machine Sand, Cut, Buff & Ceramic Coat a Gelcoat Boat (https://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/live-detailing-classes-how-to-videos-with-mike-phillips-and-yancy-martinez/127403-live-detailing-class-how-machine-sand-cut-buff-ceramic-coat-gelcoat-boat.html)




https://youtu.be/ntNvd-Pof6k



After seeing the finished boat, we offered the owner the opportunity to bring his boat to Autogeek where they could re-sand, compound, polish and then install a ceramic coating to give the boat a show car or show boat finish while making it faster and easier to wash, clean and preserve the boat into the future. This LIVE class takes place Thursday, August 27th at 3:00pm Eastern Time

http://www.autogeekonline.net/gallery/data/4019/3D_Boat_Coating_030.JPG



Here's where you can watch LIVE on Thursday's at 3:00pm Eastern Time

YouTube (https://youtu.be/6M-UUDPejP8) - You can interact LIVE via the comments section

Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/autogeek) - You can interact LIVE via the comments section

Autogeek.com (https://www.autogeek.net/live-detailing-classes.html) - The products showcased are also on this page


Or watch right here! Refresh your screen at 3:00pm


https://youtu.be/6M-UUDPejP8





:)

Mike Phillips
08-26-2020, 03:12 PM
More info....


Here's the product we'll be showcasing...


http://www.autogeekonline.net/gallery/data/4019/3D_Boat_Coating_063.JPG

http://www.autogeekonline.net/gallery/data/4019/3D_Boat_Coating_064.JPG

http://www.autogeekonline.net/gallery/data/4019/3D_Boat_Coating_065.JPG

http://www.autogeekonline.net/gallery/data/4019/3D_Boat_Coating_066.JPG




Products Used

Mirka Abralon #3000 Sanding Discs (https://www.autogeek.net/mirka-abralon-6-inch-3000-grit.html) - $50.00

Mirka Abralon #4000 Sanding Discs (https://www.autogeek.net/mirka-abralon-6-inch-4000-grit.html) - $50.00

3M Hookit 6 Inch Soft Interface Pad - 05777 (https://www.autogeek.net/3m-6in-interface-pad.html) - #20.00

3D One Hybrid Compound & Polish 32 ounce (https://www.autogeek.net/3d-one-32.html) - $36.00

3D AAT Cutting Compound 32 oz. (https://www.autogeek.net/3d-aat-rubbing-compound.html) - $30.00

3D Wipe 16 oz. (https://www.autogeek.net/3d-wipe-16oz.html) - $14.00

3D Ceramic Coating Kit - 30mL (https://www.autogeek.net/3d-ceramic-coating-kit.html) - $65.00

3M Automotive Performance Masking Tape 3-Pack (https://www.autogeek.net/3m-auto-masking-tapes.html) - $17.00

CarPro Automotive Masking Tape 3-Pack (https://www.autogeek.net/carpro-masking-tape-3pack.html) - $9.99

3D Pink Car Soap (https://www.autogeek.net/3d-pink-car-soap.html) - $6.00

36 Ounce Detail Bottle (https://www.autogeek.net/36oudebo.html) - $6.00

High Output Chemical Resistant Sprayer (https://www.autogeek.net/chemical-resistant-sprayer.html) - $3.00




Pads

RUPES Twisted Natural Wool Pad - 6.5 Inch (https://www.autogeek.net/rupes-twisted-wool-pad-6half-inch.html)

RUPES DA-COARSE 180mm diameter or 7" Foam Cutting Pads - Coming Soon! Will replace the current RUPES Blue Coarse Foam Pad

Griots 2" Fast Correcting White Foam Pads (https://www.autogeek.net/griots-garage-2inch-conversion-kit.html)

Rupes 40 mm (1.5 Inch) UHS Foam Pad - 6 Pack (https://www.autogeek.net/rupes-40u-pad.html) - $38.00




Tools

FLEX PE-150 Cordless Rotary Polisher (https://www.autogeek.net/flex-pe150-cordless-rotary.html) - $598.00

Flex "The Beast" XC 3401 VRG Dual Action Orbital Polisher (https://www.autogeek.net/flex-orbital-polisher.html) - $436.00

Rupes iBrid Nano Long Neck Starter Kit (https://www.autogeek.net/ibrid-nano-long-neck-cordless-essentials-kit.html) - 441.00 - Out of stock

Porter Cable 7424XP (https://www.autogeek.net/porter-cable-7424xp.html) - $150.00 plus you'll need a 5" backing plate (https://www.autogeek.net/lc43125.html) - $18.00

Speed Master Swirl Finder Detailer Light (https://www.autogeek.net/speed-master-swirl-finder-detailer-light.html) - $115.00




Microfiber Towels

Cobra Super Plush Junior Microfiber Towel, 16 x 16 inches (https://www.autogeek.net/cobra-deluxe-jr-towels-12.html) - $50.00 for a 12 pack

Cobra Forrest Green Edgeless Polishing Cloth (https://www.autogeek.net/mf-green-12.html) - $20.00 for a 12 pack




:)

Mike Phillips
08-27-2020, 01:08 PM
:bump:


Joining us today via Skype will be the man himself, Tunch Gorin.

He would have joined us in person but his in the Laboratory today doing what he loves and that's being a CHEMIST!


http://www.autogeekonline.net/gallery/data/4019/TunchInLab.jpg


:buffing:

Mike Phillips
08-27-2020, 08:06 PM
Done.

After the LIVE detailing class - Royce and I applied 3 applications of the 3D Ceramic Coating.

Coating the outside is a cake walk compared to coating the inside. One thing for sure she’s going to be the shiniest coat on the water.

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200828/d204af019b8662d5bc4f23d3b9d616b1.jpg

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200828/26cfc55739415098ceb2357109079d30.jpg

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200828/4665813172575e88bc1625914c7d6f50.jpg

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200828/3ef869e51968dc9396f012365001756a.jpg

:)