PDA

View Full Version : New Guy w/ Questions

MikeyNice
03-28-2008, 11:28 AM
Hey guys/gals, Ive been reading for a while and the info here actually has my head spinning. Im not a pro detailer but like to take care of my own vehicles. Unfortunataly due to my work schedule and 3 children I just dont have the time I used to have to detail my cars. Anyway I plan on placing an order here at AG and getting some quality products to replace some of the junk I have in my garage. I was hoping you guys could take a look at my list and let me know what you think. The cars are an 05 Caravan (Atlantic Blue Pearl) and an 08 Land Rover (Stornoway Gray Metallic). Due to lack of time I based my products more for durabilty/longevity than for show. Here is my list:
-Wash-Autogeek Quart Foamaster Foam Gun w/ DP Xtreme Foam Formula Auto Shampoo
-Clay-Pinnacle Ultra Poly Clay Kit
-Buffer-7424 w/ Orange, White, Gray, Blue 5.5" LC CCS pads
-Polish-Optimum Polish(OPT-400)
-Sealant-Duragloss Total Performance Polish(DG-105)
-Wax-Collinite Liquid Insulator Wax(CO-845)
-Trim-303 Aerospace Protectant
-Leather-I have some Meguiers Gold Class Cleaner/Conditioner
-HD Guzzlers,Cobra Indigo Microfiber Polishing Cloths
The Caravan will get full treatment the Land Rover will get everything except polish.
Are the 5.5" pads ok for a beginner or are 6.5" better? Can I apply polish, sealant, wax w/ buffer? Are these products Ok for my colors? Any opinions/suggestions will be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

dbrufus1234
03-30-2008, 12:04 PM
did you look at any on the menzerna polish products they are pretty nice, and the 5.5" pads will do fine (dont forget to get a backing plate for the 7424). if you get the 5" backing plate the 5.5" pads will be better but if you get the 6" backing plate the 6.5" pads will be better

MikeyNice
03-30-2008, 07:11 PM