PDA

View Full Version : LC orange pads losing stiffness?

Pages : [1] 2

ebrammer252
05-17-2020, 10:17 PM
I'm relatively new to machine polishing and out of my five orange LC flat pads I have two that I've used the most on my Griot's G9. Granted I've only done one full car, and I've done a single hood, and a motorcycle tank as practice. After I did the first full car today I'm cleaning my pads out and I notice that two of my five orange pads are much softer and more pliable than the others. In fact they're on a "squishiness" level of a green pad. Do these orange pads still have the same amount of cut or are they toast? How did I kill them so quickly?

Dr Oldz
05-17-2020, 10:40 PM
Were they wet or damp? A wet pad will be softer.

Read these also to help answer any questions and educate yourself:

https://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/how-to-articles-by-mike-phillips/88109-how-many-pads-do-i-need-buff-out-my-car.html?highlight=Pads

Cool video on pads here:

LIVE BROADCAST - Tuesday, May 12th at 3:00pm Eastern Time - Tips & Techniques (https://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/ask-mike-phillips-your-detailing-questions-/126378-live-broadcast-tuesday-may-12th-3-00pm-eastern-time-tips-techniques.html)

ebrammer252
05-17-2020, 10:54 PM
They were both wet after soaking in water, prior to being agitated with a pad brush and cleaner. Of the five orange orange pads I have, I used 4 today doing a one step correction with HD Speed on a Toyota Corolla.

WillSports3
05-17-2020, 11:34 PM
Try washing them int eh wash machine and then letting them dry, should be good to go.

ebrammer252
05-18-2020, 12:05 AM
Try washing them int eh wash machine and then letting them dry, should be good to go.

Thanks, hey same car! 2016 Mazda 3 S GT, Mica Black here!

WillSports3
05-18-2020, 12:13 AM
Very nice man, I love this thing. Wife won't let me buy anything more higher end so here I am haha

ebrammer252
05-18-2020, 10:31 AM