PDA

View Full Version : Correcting a greasy mess and how to not screw up your coating

IAJack
05-07-2020, 07:26 PM
I present to you for caution and entertainment a tale of how to not screw up your coating. I am a total amateur, but I try to do my best to learn and at least not do any harm. Hopefully you can all either learn from my tale or have a lot of fun laughing at me. I am not a great writer but bear with me here.

In Feb. I purchased a 2019 F150 in Magma Red (dark burgundy to where it looks black except in bright sun). I brought it home and the first weekend I had I washed it (two buckets), clayed it using iron remover clay bar lube, and then used an random orbital polisher with Chemical Guys #36 and #38, then washed it again. I have fairly hard water here at home so then I wiped it down the best I could and removed any water spots, again I was doing good. So then I decide to put on a coating of Mothers CMX ceramic spray which went on and wiped off easy. It seemed to darken the finish quite a bit but looked great.

Forward about 6 weeks and the CMX was still beading but I wanted to try and touch it up or make it better if I could. A friend recommended Meguires Ceramic spray so I figured ahh, they are both ceramic what can it hurt. I put on a layer and wiped it off per the instructions. It seemed ok but kinda left some streaks and water marks that needed wiped off. When I put this on it was kinda warming up here in AZ and you could cook on the hood of the dark paint when outside. The next time I washed the vehicle and tried to wipe it down I noticed that it was leaving holograms and it was like smearing clear cooking oil over it. No matter how much I wiped there was a sorta greasy haze that moved around and smeared as I wiped. I was not happy with this so I though I would just wash it off and start over.