PDA

View Full Version : New Paint Job - How to Polish?

g60corrado91
09-23-2019, 06:01 PM
Hi Mike,

First post here. I have a 2018 British Racing Green Miata Club. I ended up purchasing the following:

CarPro Iron-X
Griots Garage G9 polisher
Griots BOSS orange correction pad
BLACKFIRE One Step
Sonax Polymer Net Shield
Sonax BSD
Foam pad conditioning brush

The steps I'm planning on taking are:

1. Wash car
2. Decontaminate the car using Iron-X
3. Rinse/wash the car down again
4. Check for any tree sap and if there is any, remove it with isopropyl alcohol
5. Claybar the car (I just have Meguiars clay)
6. Fully dry the car
7. Use the G9 and One Step

This is where my questions begin. My car was painted; ND Miata's do not come factory in BRG. It will have been about 3 months October 15th. I will be pretty light starting off just because it's a dark color and I don't know how strong the body shops paint and clear is. I will start in an inconspicuous area first. I have some experience from my GTI with using a DA buffer and Meguiars products back in 2009 or so, but I believe those were just polishing pads more than anything.

The swirls are very light, but there are some there, most likely from the Mazda dealer having washed it a time or two... I see in your post, you use the BOSS orange correction pads about 8 section passes through, but the swirls in the Miata's paint are not nearly that deep.

1. Would you still recommend I use the orange correction pad, or should I get the BOSS yellow perfection pad?

2. In other posts, you mention on a car with pretty good paint, to use 5-6 pads. What is the point of the conditioning brush if I'm using multiple pads anyhow? i.e. are the pads useless when you swap to the next pad, or is that just because they get all gunked up and you can reuse them after you clean them out? The Miata is about as small as the original Miata with a soft top, so I'm thinking I could probably make do with 4-5 pads.