PDA

View Full Version : Sonax PNS without polishing first?

nap3p
09-01-2019, 06:57 PM
I realize the ideal process would be to polish first, but I'm new to DA polishing and need to get a little more experience with it before taking it to my car. Is there any major problems with washing, Iron X, clay, wash, and then apply PNS?

This is on a daily driver that already has some swirls and micro marring so I don't really anticipate making things much worse with claying (nanoskin fine mitt) and not polishing. I'd like to apply the PNS now to get some protection on it while gaining some experience with the DA. Then in a couple months repeat the process but add a polishing step to correct the swirls/marring.

JHForman
09-01-2019, 06:58 PM
in to see others replies on this, I think if your paint is good enough you could go on to PNS without a polish but im new so I don't know the for sure answer

boosteddub69
09-01-2019, 07:20 PM
I realize the ideal process would be to polish first, but I'm new to DA polishing and need to get a little more experience with it before taking it to my car. Is there any major problems with washing, Iron X, clay, wash, and then apply PNS?

This is on a daily driver that already has some swirls and micro marring so I don't really anticipate making things much worse with claying (nanoskin fine mitt) and not polishing. I'd like to apply the PNS now to get some protection on it while gaining some experience with the DA. Then in a couple months repeat the process but add a polishing step to correct the swirls/marring.

There's nothing wrong with what you want to do here. You will get the benefits of protection and a little shine but obviously it won't look its best without the correction/polishing. As long as you know that, then go for it.

FUNX650
09-01-2019, 09:12 PM
I realize the ideal process would be
to polish first...

Is there any major problems with washing,
Iron X, clay, wash, and then apply PNS?

None whatsoever, IMO.

In fact: