PDA

View Full Version : Silly question LC polishing pads

twouvakind
08-23-2019, 05:03 AM
No doubt, been asked before....anyhoo....just how long do these pads last? In other words, when do they just become a piece of foam lacking the ability to polish? Like, when do they lose their abrasiveness? Nothing lasts forever, I know.

MarkD51
08-23-2019, 05:34 AM
Hard to answer accurately. Sort of like the old commercial where it asks "how many licks does it take to eat a Tootsie Pop"?

I would say after a number of uses, and the Pad is still intact, not moth eaten, or has other possible issues, then it would be usable in some capacity, even if one thought it lost its "bite".

I'm no expert on Pads, but have used them enough to make some judgement calls.

When I first started with DA Polishing, I was much harder on Pads, due to inexperience and ignorance. That some suffered a premature demise. Heat, and overworking any one Pad was the cause. Or running a Pad into "uncharted waters" so to speak, into some trim area, near a step bumper, etc., and tearing it up.

Many factors come into play, Pad Speed, Down Pressure while Polishing, over or under saturation, and length of time. All of these can cause a variability of heat generated, one of Pad's biggest enemies.

How and what they are cleaned with can be a factor. When I first started, I simply resorted to off the shelf all purpose cleaners to clean pads after use, and in truth, they did not work all that well. Thus repeat cleanings in vain.

But then after buying good dedicated Pad Cleaners I did find they worked much better, faster, and seemed to help the pads as far as life went.