PDA

View Full Version : Having issues with paint correction

Pages : [1] 2

nprotz
07-26-2019, 08:31 PM
So I'm pretty new to using a DA polisher and have worked on 4-5 vehicles now. I'm using a Griot's GG6 DA polisher.

One vehicle I worked on was my older 99 model white GMC truck. It turned out pretty good considering how scratched and swirled it was, however it took a good while to make progress. I figured it was just too bad for the orange pads and compound I used. I used LC orange and BS orange pads and Wolfgang Total Swirl Remover

Next I tried my wife's 2015 Mercedes C300. It's a metallic blue/gray. It had some scratches, very very minor swirls, but then some spots that looked like a mix of pollutant and water spots. Orange pads did almost nothing. They did take out the very very light swirls/holograms. I then bought some Griot's Fast Correcting Cream. This didn't seem to help a whole lot, so I tried some Griot's microfiber pads. That worked but still took a long time having to go pretty slow and doing several section passes.

Next I tried my father in Law's GMC truck. I think it's like a 2012 or 2013. It's a peal white. I had the same problem as on this as on the Mercedes. I finally got it polished pretty good but it took way to long and too much effort.

The last car I tried was a 2017 Camaro 2SS Metallic Black. I didn't do the entire car but tried a spot since my friend was wanting to try out his Porter Cable polisher. The orange pads again didn't do much. Can't remember which compound we used.