PDA

View Full Version : Ech2o leaving film used as rinseless

Strauss95
07-17-2019, 08:47 PM
So I've been using rinseless washes for many years, most of those being traditional ONR. Currently coated with Gtechniq CSL topped with EXOv4 so I wanted to try a rinseless geared towards coatings. I mixed up 2oz of Ech2o with 4gal of water in my wash bucket, and have tried it with multiple wash media. Every time I get what's best described as a "slimey" film that is almost oil'y in texture and feel. It was the worst when using the big red sponge, but still present with a microfiber wash mitt and edgeless towels. This film wipes away immediately in my first drying pass with a PFM drying towel, and the finish afterwards is flawless. I am guessing it's the Si02 in the Ech2o coating the paint? I stir up my wash solution every time I dunk into the bucket, so that isn't the issue.

Technically it isn't a problem since it does wipe off very easily, but I just found it very odd. Does anyone else get this effect when using it as a rinseless wash? Just wanted to make sure this is normal behavior. Honestly I'm not that crazy about it and I'll probably go back to using ONR or McKee's N-914. Besides the oil'y film, the product does work really well and leaves the paint very glossy. But I think I'd rather just wipe it down after washing with either Elixr or Ech2o diluted 15:1 in a spray bottle.

Klasse Act
07-17-2019, 08:55 PM
I have never experience this issue when using Ech2o as a RW and I use the same ratio as you do. I'm wondering if it's the water quality[emoji848]

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

Mgavin1985
07-17-2019, 09:19 PM
Echo is tricky it very concentrated I add more water than the call for in its 3 types of washing. Try using less it’s really great product.

rlmccarty2000
07-17-2019, 09:21 PM
As ECH2O dries I usually have to wipe it down again. It leaves a film, but buffs off easily.

Strauss95
07-17-2019, 10:00 PM