PDA

View Full Version : Do black cars really need products specific for black paint?

Pages : [1] 2

Silvaria
06-20-2019, 12:38 AM
It seems to me that the clear coat negates a "need" for products that are supposedly designed for specific paint colors, but I am VERY new to this and I could be wrong.

acuRAS82
06-20-2019, 01:09 AM
Glazes and waxes marketed for black cars are generally those that have certain oils meant to bring out the depth of black, rather than make it super shiny which may not be everyone’s favorite look on black. Even with a clear coat, how your finish looks is partially dependent on how light reflects off of it and this is where the oils can slightly alter that look.

With the above being said, there is no functional or health reasons why black waxes are better for the paint. Black waxes can look great on light colors; non-black marketed glazes and waxes can look great on black. I wouldn’t worry about narrowing down to a black marketed product unless it interests you to try it. I have many black waxes and many non-color charged waxes and I reach for any of them for any color.

Dr Oldz
06-20-2019, 02:50 AM
No. Black shows everything but same happens on all paint colors. If you can perfect black paint, you can perfect all!

Bill D
06-20-2019, 04:07 AM
Getting black paint perfect is like having a “black belt” in detailing! :-)

Paul A.
06-20-2019, 08:34 AM
In my experience I have found some products appear better on my black DD as far as LSP's.

Having said that I have found other products that look better on white, silver, red, blue etc. again, regarding waxes, sealants and coatings.

The differences are slight but a discerning eye can see these slight differences. The key for all paints is in the cut, buff, polish and jewelling to perfect perfectly flat paint. That's 95% of the look and reflection. The LSP chosen is the remaining 1%-5%.