PDA

View Full Version : Running water into an attached garage?

briarpatch
05-08-2019, 09:16 AM
I'm planning on placing a stationary pressure washer in the corner of my garage. Nothing crazy like Obsessed Garage, but something mid-range to make washing cars more convenient. Currently, my water supply will come from the outside, which is not a big deal in the warmer months. I want to run a permanent water supply to the unit inside the garage. I do have a basement, and this is an attached (unheated but insulated) garage. It seems fairly simple, but since I'm no plumber, I'm sure it's more complicated than it seems.

Anyone done this or have any suggestions?

DBAILEY
05-08-2019, 09:47 AM
You could you that PVC flexible piping so you don't have to worry about too many soldered connections. Not sure if there is an insulated version of it.

tomsteve
05-08-2019, 10:26 AM
i did it quite some time ago in the attached garage of the house i was living in but i have some plumbing experience. its simple- find exisiting line to tap into( i ended up tapping into main feed line), determine how new line will be routed,where the spigot will be located, drill some holes, cut and fit all pipe and fittings, solder joints( same would be with pvc but glueing joints). simple but not the easiest.
you might want to do some reading up on plumbing, theres some good sites with good info- just dont read on them dam anna white type sites. look for plumber dedicated sites.

since its unheated i suggest a frost free spigot.
it reads like washing inside the garage is something new to you. is your floor/slab set up for drainage?

briarpatch
05-08-2019, 12:17 PM