PDA

View Full Version : New Buffer Question

stan0324
04-15-2019, 02:38 PM
Just purchased the Griots 6" buffer. This is my first time using a buffer and based on all my research, this was my best choice (for a 1st timer).

I will be using this machine to apply polish to my 3 cars. Do I polish the entire car (like I did in the past) and then using a microfiber towel wipe it off, or do I apply
and wipe it off is sections?

Also, I will be using the Griots red pads to apply the polish. Are the pad colors universal or are they colored by manufacturer?

Thanks

irvsmith
04-15-2019, 02:57 PM
I like the GG 6" - definitely a good all around machine. In terms of polishing process I think it would depend on the product you are using at the temperature at which you are polishing. In my experience it is better to remove the polish from a panel when done. It is easier to remove at that time.

WaxMaster1
04-15-2019, 03:07 PM
Hey Stan, congrats on the purchase! First suggestion would be to do a test spot to see if the results are what you desire. The only time I would finish the entire car is if I was using an All-In-One, but I would still test a spot first. Otherwise, do as Irv says, one panel at a time.

dlc95
04-15-2019, 03:09 PM
When using an abrasive polish, most recommend working the polish into the finish, then wiping off before moving to a new section.

The red Griot's pad is very soft for wax application purposes. They usually recommend their orange pad for general polishing purposes.

vobro
04-15-2019, 03:49 PM
When you say polish do you mean a correcting polish or a sealant?

stan0324
04-15-2019, 04:29 PM
I will be using Pinnacle Liquid Souveran and then applying by hand Wolfgang Deep Gloss Liquid Seal.

WaxMaster1
04-15-2019, 04:38 PM
I will be using Pinnacle Liquid Souveran and then applying by hand Wolfgang Deep Gloss Liquid Seal.

Stan, maybe apply the Wolfgang first because it will be more durable. Use the liquid Souveran as the sacrificial barrier.

stan0324