PDA

View Full Version : beginner question regarding pads

Pages : [1] 2

Artdnj
02-14-2019, 12:14 PM
Newbie question and I promise I researched this site intensely but still a bit confused. I realize pad selection is arbitrary and need based but opinions are appreciated. I am detailing my daughter's daily driver, a 2011 128i, white that has pint in fairly good condition but has swirls/holograms when looking at it in the sun.

I'll be using a GG6, with a 5 inch backing plate, HD Speed followed by Collinite 845.

steps I believe ill do:

wash
iron X
clay
polish with HD speed using a orange LC thin pro pad
845 application using a black LV flat pad

I am no pro, in fact this will be my first time so any suggestions regarding process, materials (especially pad selection) will be appreciated. My thought process is to be moderate in polishing and sealing with a well respected wax that I have used before with nice, long lasting results. Thanks for any all input.

dlc95
02-14-2019, 12:25 PM
Consider the white polishing pad.

It works great with cleaner waxes like Speed. You'll get some cut and a great finish out of it. It covers a lot of bases, and is a very versatile and capable pad.

Artdnj
02-14-2019, 12:30 PM
Ok, that was actually my first thought, do think I should go with the LC flat or is the thin pro ok with a rookie polisher?

rlmccarty2000
02-14-2019, 12:38 PM
I’ve got two 2011 BMWs and I I’m almost 100% sure you will need to compound the paint with a good compound and a cutting pad (microfiber, wool, or foam). Jescar Compound or Menzerma 400 on Rupes blue wool or Meguires microfiber cutting pads followed with Menzerma 3500 with a Rupes yellow pad have been my best combinations after doing numerous test spots with other polishes and compounds.

Speed is an AOI with some cut, but BMW paint is hard. Skip the AOI (especially if you plan on using 845 anyway) and just try Jescar or Menzerma 400, they can leave the paint LSP ready for most people. Trust me on this one.