PDA

View Full Version : Looking for wheel coating tips for a first timer

LSwut
09-28-2018, 02:40 PM
I have 3 sets of wheels and 2 sets of calipers to coat and would love some advice on how to approach this. I’m a complete newb to coatings.

The first set will be on a Mercedes sprinter work van with stock pads that is a daily driver. I’ve already spent about 2 hours cleaning and claying with sonax wheel cleaner and their fallout cleaner. I still have a little work to get all the baked on spots off. These thing get nasty after just a couple of days.

The others are the stock wheels and red brembo calipers on a Jeep SRT8 and aftermarket wheels and calipers on a Trailblazer SS which are both rarely driven.

The wheels on the TBSS are True Forged 3pcs with bare polished aluminum centers and chrome lips. Calipers are black SSBC. I’ve hand polished them with optimum metal and topped with Wolfgang metal sealant. I’ll lightly polish them again but I’m not sure of the best way to prep for the coating.

I was thinking about purchasing 2 of the new IGL wheel kits but was unsure of ease of use and if it’d be enough to do all 3 jobs.

Any help is greatly appreciated, thanks guys. I’ll be sure to update with my results.

LSwut
09-28-2018, 02:43 PM
Since we all love pics here’s a shot of the TBSS wheels and I know my Nitto letters needs some cleaning

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180928/a211ee7dc573525bdd9f5e709e0bfc58.jpg
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180928/5f4d2e52868790fb486930740e707ede.jpg

Justin at Final Inspection
09-28-2018, 03:26 PM
IGL wheel all the way. 2 coats and done. I typically spray it
doing 1 layer with my 4oz hvlp gun. But it uses much more product but gets better coverage.

If your hand applying 2 kits should be more than enough for 3 sets wheels.