PDA

View Full Version : REALLY basic question - how much fluid in your wash bucket?

TMetzinger
09-21-2018, 01:12 PM
I'm posing this because I'm a detail oriented engineer and I'd like to get things down to a repeatable process...

I use a two-bucket method - I've got two 5 Gal buckets, both with grit guards, and I fill up the rinse bucket with probably 4 gallons of water. Then I mix up the wash bucket, and this is where it gets unclear. Ratio of wash to water is 1 Oz per Gal. But, am I trying to take a gallon of water and make a bucket of suds? Take two gallons of water and make some soapy water with suds on top? Three? Keep in mind that the top of the grit guard is probably at the 1/2 gallon fluid level.

Reason for all this overthinking is to figure out how much soap I need per wash and then I can figure out how often I need to order a new batch of wash shampoo.

Best wishes,
Tim

Farmallluvr
09-21-2018, 02:19 PM
I usually wing with about 4 oz to a 5 gallon filled almost to the top with water,if it doesn't stay sudsy enough add more soap.

You can a pretty close measurement with a 6 oz Styrofoam coffee cup

Mike Phillips
09-21-2018, 02:43 PM
Me?

4 gallons in a 5 gallon bucket

:)

Rsurfer
09-21-2018, 02:51 PM
Read the manufacturers direction. All soaps are not created equal. Example, Car Pro's Reset is 1 oz. per 4 gallons of water.

LSNAutoDetailing
09-21-2018, 02:53 PM
It's actually pretty easy to figure out... Pour in 1 Gal of water (from a 1 gal container). On the outside of the bucket with a perm marker, place a mark... do this until you get to 5. Home Depot buckets are close to about 5 1/2 gal... There is a plastic ring around the top of the bucket, about 2" from the top... This is about the 5 gal mark.

Do this for all your buckets, Wash, Rinse and Wheels... (I use a 3BM - 1 bucket dedicated for wheels).