PDA

View Full Version : Speed recommendations Makita PO6000C or 5000C using 3M Polish and Pads

Pages : [1] 2

Submariner
09-16-2018, 09:17 AM
As a newbie, I was hoping for some advice using 2 of the 3M Products.
my difficulty is translating their recomended speeds on a Rotary to the speed on My Makita PO6000C 6” pads.

1. The 3M Perfect it III Ultra Fine Plus Polish - Yellow and 3M Yellow Pad
3M Data Sheet says 1,500 to 2,000 rpm but on a Rotary

2. The 3M Perfect it III Ultrafina SE Polish - Blue and 3M Blue Pad
3M Data sheet say 1,400 to 2,000 RPM but thats on a Rotary. One of their training Vids says 1,200 to 1,800

Any recomendations for Speed settings with the following:-

1. Using a DA polisher and Ultra Fine Plus Polish
A] free spinning DA and B] Orbital and Forced Rotation

2. Using a DA polisher and Ultrafina SE Polish
A] free spinning DA and B] Orbital and Forced Rotation

Farmallluvr
09-16-2018, 09:47 AM
those compounds are meant for rotary only and I am pretty sure using them with a high speed random orbital will leave your finish quite hazy

Maybe some Menzerna 3n1 or their polishung system,,I think you are in the UK ?,,not sure whats all available to you there.

read this;3M™ Perfect-It™ Rubbing Compound | 3M United States

(https://www.3m.com/3M/en_US/company-us/all-3m-products/~/3M-Perfect-It-Rubbing-Compound/?N=5002385+3293241730&rt=rud)

Submariner
09-16-2018, 10:53 AM
those compounds are meant for rotary only and I am pretty sure using them with a high speed random orbital will leave your finish quite hazy

Maybe some Menzerna 3n1 or their polishung system,,I think you are in the UK ?,,not sure whats all available to you there.
read this;3M™ Perfect-It™ Rubbing Compound | 3M United States
(https://www.3m.com/3M/en_US/company-us/all-3m-products/~/3M-Perfect-It-Rubbing-Compound/?N=5002385+3293241730&rt=rud)

Oops. Looks like I wasted a lot of money , if you are right?
Not what I was told.
May I ask who told you they were not for DAs?

Farmallluvr