PDA

View Full Version : Car wash at coin op and polish at home?

Pages : [1] 2

jellygo
09-12-2018, 12:37 PM
Hello everyone. First time posting and lurking around for a while.

I live in a LA townhouse where I have my own garage but no access to water. But, there is a coin car wash 7 minutes away from my home.

I'm thinking of cleaning wheels, car washing, iron x, and claying then dry with my own cordless leaf blower at coin op car wash. Then drive back home to compound and polish.

Is this sounds okay? Is there anything I should be careful about?

I wish I had access to hoses and water...:cry::cry::cry::cry:

Bgates222
09-12-2018, 12:43 PM
I’m no expert but my guess is 7 minutes could end up being a long time to drive and you’ll end up getting the car all dusty and dirty again so you’d probably end up having to do a waterless wash once you got home and even then no guarantee your not gonna miss some dirt

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

acuRAS82
09-12-2018, 12:53 PM
I agree with Bgates. Do a waterless wash or an generous QD wipe. There’s a decent chance something harmful may stick to the car during that 7 min drive. You don’t want to pick it up in the polishing pad and wreak havoc.

Kamakaz1961
09-12-2018, 12:57 PM
I would look into a rinseless wash. All you need is 2 Buckets with grit guards and the necessary applicators and MF towels and you are good to go. As for a waterless wash....only if you can't Rinseless wash. I do not waterless wash FWIW.

BTW, in 7 minutes from the coin wash you would accumulate dust and debris. Something that I would not consider.

Sonic Pilot
09-12-2018, 01:07 PM
Hello everyone. First time posting and lurking around for a while.

I live in a LA townhouse where I have my own garage but no access to water. But, there is a coin car wash 7 minutes away from my home.