PDA

View Full Version : Where to start?

Pages : [1] 2

EyesofThunder
09-04-2018, 11:34 AM
I'm a detailing noob....

My 98 Lexus GS400 has 303k miles and hasn't had any serious detailing since I have had it the last 165k miles and 7 years. It used to have a much prettier paint hue than it does now. The cars we have sit rarely get a break from the sun and elements. And see most any temp range in the US, as low as -20F to +100F.

I want to learn how to work on the paint. As I start looking close on my wife's 04 RX330 I see the fine scratches all over. I never realized how many there are. My car is likely the same.

Where do I start? Compound? Or Claybar then compound, polish and wax?

For now going to start by hand, but a polisher is something I want to get.

On my old 80 Turbo Trans Am I polished it too much and thinned the paint down. But that was a 1980 Acrylic (Acrylic was a new thing in 1980) paint with no clear coat (they didn't exist from GM back then).

For products I have on hand, Meg's Ultimate Wax, Meg's spray detail wax (old, I have had it for eons, may not be any good) and a handful of microfiber towels (cheap ones) that are new in package.

Thanks! Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Coopers ST
09-04-2018, 12:03 PM
Are you going to do this by hand, or machine? If machine a DA or Rotary?
I would start with a wash, then clay.
I use a DA so I would then use a bunch of test spots. Compound with a pad or two, and polish with a pad or two. See what gives you acceptable results.

If by hand you have your work cut out. It may be beneficial to buy a da kit.
Or
Pay a detailer once then maintain it.

Your ultimate wax is just fine. It's really a sealant, I am cheap and would use the spray wax you have for a drying aid just to use it up.

I would then get a bottle of ultimate polish and ultimate compound. That would make a great combo that is hard to beat. All of them work together, go on and come off easy and have good work times.