PDA

View Full Version : How To Use A NanoSkin Clay Mitt?

lovenhim
08-31-2018, 02:03 PM
Hello everyone. I have used retail level clay bar kits before and they work well. However, I have a Nanoskin fine clay mitt coming. I have never used one before. My guess is that you wash and dry the car like normal. Now, do you simply treat it as a clay bar by using an instant detailer as a lube keeping the surface wet and use the mitt in a north/south or east/west motion? What about using car wash soap as a lube? I have heard that some people use a garden hose foam gun with car soap and soak the area in front of the mitt. If you use the clay mitt with instant detailer method, does the cleaned area just buff off to a shine ready for a cleaner wax, etc?

PaulMys
08-31-2018, 05:13 PM
You can use any of the methods you described. I like using soapy water (Car wash). I'll spray ONR (or similar) at clay lube ratio all over the section, then dunk my mitt into my soap solution and gently glide it across.

LEDetailing
08-31-2018, 05:55 PM
You can use any of the methods you described. I like using soapy water (Car wash). I'll spray ONR (or similar) at clay lube ratio all over the section, then dunk my mitt into my soap solution and gently glide it across.

^^^This^^^

camaro2ssblack
08-31-2018, 06:05 PM
Iron Decon
Rinse
Foam
Wash
Rinse
Foam
Clay Mitt
Rinse
Dry
Paint Correction
Panel Wipe
LSP

rlmccarty2000
08-31-2018, 07:40 PM
I prefer using a lube dedicated for claying. The dedicated ones are usually thicker and cut down on any associated marring or spotting. CarPro makes a good one.

PaulMys
08-31-2018, 08:05 PM
I prefer using a lube dedicated for claying. The dedicated ones are usually thicker and cut down on any associated marring or spotting. CarPro makes a good one.

There are many products out there that let you control the lubricious quality of the mixture, and for a fraction of the price of dedicated clay lubes. JME

Mantilgh
08-31-2018, 08:40 PM