PDA

View Full Version : getting started in a new city?

mobiledr.detail313
02-13-2008, 03:29 PM
i hope im putting this in the right forum, just a quick few questions im new to florida im form michigan im staying in the ft.luderdale/sunrise area i brought my mobile detail van with me, i changed the number on my van and everything made up new price lists with contact info, but im finding it difficult to generate customers but and its a big but (no pun intended) i see there are a few mobile detailers in the area im staying in but i feel this area is so big in size that it shouldnt be that hard to blend in with the others, so what im askin is what should i do to advertise better without having to spend a arm and leg and a few fingers? should i post up in parking lots? go to office buildings? ride the city all day ( my van is so noticeable its a billboard on wheels) try the dealerships? anybody with any kind of help would be good. like i said im from michigan and the city im from has few to no mobile detailers so it was not hard for me to get my name out there and generate business its just that its to cold to do anything like that in michigan without a building so thats why im here and im visiting family at the same time so i got a place to stay and all (actually i might relocate if i feel i can do more detailing here that michigan). or am i expecting to mush as i only been here in florida 10 days? am i rushing it? thanks for reading!!!!:cheers:

ScottB
02-13-2008, 09:21 PM
Florida is an extremely hard market as alot of competition exists and thus pricing is lower than other areas. Also note since cars are outside and in sun almost all year, it can be more lucrative in the long run with repeat business.