PDA

View Full Version : Need Vs. Want (Newbie Question)

Pages : [1] 2 3

lovenhim
08-06-2018, 12:23 PM
Hello everyone. I have been washing vehicles incorrectly for thirty years now. I mean personal and family vehicles, I am not a pro. Here is what I have done for years.

5 gallon bucket
Over the counter major name brand car wash
wash mitt
very soft tire and wheel brush
always Whesleys Bleach White for tires and wheels
Armorall on tires for the satin look, never the extreme high gloss look
large terry cloth towel to dry, think old but clean bathroom towel.

Now that you have recovered from the shock and have stopped yelling at the screen about how I am killing clearcoat finishes, etc......ummmmmmm......help? I am trying to do this as inexpensively as I can, thus the need over conveinence or that "that sure is nice" factor.

Alright, lets start from the basics here. What is absolutely needed for a general hobby car wash? I had never heard of the two bucket wash method until I came here. If a volume of water is preferred over water preasure, instead of a $20 fire nozzle, would not a water control brass nozzle with a 1/4 turn valve work just as well? My main go to products have been car wash liquids from the Meguiars Gold Class line or Mothers California Gold line. I try and avoid the cheaper car washes from say Rain X, Turtle Wax, etc.

I have never used a bucket grit guard, two bucket method, dedicated wheel cleaners (our car has hubcaps and no chrome), or an air dryer. I simply want to have fun while cleaning our car. I am not doing this for a living so time is not a concern. Thank you for the help.

hilld
08-06-2018, 12:33 PM
My suggestion is to watch a few of Mike's videos to show the proper technique.