PDA

View Full Version : "Polishing" my workflow!

Jon TDS
07-31-2018, 06:57 PM
So I have asked some of you thru PMs for help in "polishing" my workflow. I received some answers and Mike Phillips is right, posting in forum would help a lot more people. Very good insight!

A little of background... I recently started my mobile detailing business when my family moved here in US a few months ago. Before this, I have been detailing for family and friends since 2005. Was unplugged from the detailing world for a good 8 years when my wife and I worked in Singapore. Didn't realize how helpful technology is to this industry; from ceramic coating to new brands!

1st question: I have a porter Cable with 5" backing plate with me right now. I will likely get a boss 15 in future. Can I still use the same backing plate I use with PC for the Boss? So I can use the same LC pads? And I can attach a 3" backing plate to the PC?

2nd question: If LSP = coating
a. If soft paint, carpro essence xtreme with polishing or cutting pad (I have LC thinpro orange and white)
b. If hard paint, carpro essence xtreme with finishing pad* (I have LC thinpro black; should I use gloss pad by carpro?)

*I don't understand why a finishing pad would be used to "correct" when using essence. Is it because of the filling capabilities?
PM reply from Avi: Its the filling plus the polishing, finish pad will be enough , specially if its soft paint, if its harder you could use medium foam polishing pad. but need to test always , on small area

3rd question: If LSP = wax / sealant
a. If soft paint, HD speed/Megs d300/bf 1 step with polishing or cutting pad
b. If hard paint, HD speed/megs d300/bf 1 step with MF / wool pad?

Thanks guys!

Calendyr
08-01-2018, 01:50 AM
So I have asked some of you thru PMs for help in "polishing" my workflow. I received some answers and Mike Phillips is right, posting in forum would help a lot more people. Very good insight!