PDA

View Full Version : Video on a full paint correction, not out there

Pages : [1] 2

bradycat
07-26-2018, 05:46 PM
Hello,

I am new to paint correction, and all the videos that I have seen, as great many are, they are lacking 1 thing for my interest.

It's great they show you how to correct and polish and wax on a hood, BUT you don't see it from start to finish. How parts are taped off so you don't damage any of the plastic trim or lights. I have watched so many, that no one talks about it or actually shows it, what you need to do.

At first, I never knew you had to tape things off, again, as I am new to this. I love all the tips and tricks, but where can I see an actual full job on a car, or at least a section of a car, where they tape things off and start from scratch.

Is there such an animal???

Let me know, thank you
Joanne

PaulMys
07-26-2018, 05:50 PM
I never tape anything.

It already takes me 6-7 hours to polish/correct my full sized truck. I'm not trying to add 3 more hours taping.

Just be careful when machining around trim, etc.

Just my two cents.

bradycat
07-26-2018, 06:00 PM
Thanks PaulMys.............but when you have that ugly chrome around your windows edge and back trunk.........how do you not touch it when using a DA polisher, at what ever stage.

PaulMys
07-26-2018, 06:21 PM
Thanks PaulMys.............but when you have that ugly chrome around your windows edge and back trunk.........how do you not touch it when using a DA polisher, at what ever stage.

Polish up to it staying about a 1/4" away. Hit the rest by hand.

Also helps to have a smaller backing plate/pad set up. Like a 3 inch set up. Some companies have 2", or even 1" dedicated machines.

Farmallluvr
07-26-2018, 06:24 PM
I mask to a minimum,I usually lay towels on running boards tires and over the cowl area (wipers).
I only mask textured plastic I may come in contact with and only textured plastic because it can a pain to get the splatter etc out.