PDA

View Full Version : Help with finishing old Porsche 911 paint

KyuKyu3
05-15-2018, 01:46 AM
Hello,

I am a noob to detailing. I am restomodding a 91 993 911 I picked up a year ago. It has two stage paint called zenith blue which is a metallic blue. Most of the car is original paint with a door and fender resprayed at one point of it's life.

I am wondering if you can recommend what I do next.

Here is the background...

My car is a driver and has lots of swirls and surface scratches and the original paint sections have pitting as the car started in Arizona and eventually in California for most of it's life. My guess is the car has not had a paint correction before.

I used a PC 7424XP and have assortment of pads from chemical brothers, lake county, and Griot's. And have Meguiar clay, m105 compound, m205 polish, m21 synthetic sealant, and m26 carnuba wax

I started with clay and then a test run of m205 and orange pads which removed the swirls easily. There were lots of scratches still so I then used m105 and smaller 3" orange pads. The m105 removed the light scratches and I left alone the deeper ones that I could feel with my finger nail be as my goal is to preserve the paint.

After one pass of m105 of the entire car, I went back to certain light scratches I wasn't able to get out and hit them again with m105 and removed them.

I left the pits alone as the m105 didn't do anything. I assume you need to get more aggressive which will remove more clear that I am trying to preserve.

I then did one pass of m205 of the entire car with white pads and the paint is starting to be very glossy and mirror like.

I am at a point the paint looks good but not perfect as you can see the pits, rock chips, and deep scratches.

I have m21 synthetic sealant and m26 carnuba wax available.

Is there anything I should do or any other products I should apply before putting on m21?

I saw someone put Rupee/Yellow on a black 95 993 911. What is Rupee/Yellow?

Thanks!