PDA

View Full Version : Newbie question regarding possible RIDS

Potent68
04-28-2018, 11:20 PM
So I finally ordered my first real supplies for paint correction. I figured my first victim would be our 1998 Honda Accord. The entire car suffered from the flaking clear coat while the previous owner towed it behind their RV and lived part time under the Vegas sun. The hood, however, was replaced when my wife drove into the back of her friend's SUV. The hood was a junkyard piece in the same color but the paint was definitely in better shape. So the paint I'm looking at is 20 years old and I'm not expecting perfection. I'm just learning.

Potent68
04-28-2018, 11:25 PM
I washed the hood and then took the clay towel to it. After drying it I taped the surrounding fenders (don't want any paint flaking off of them onto my pad) and went to work with the orange LC pad and M105. I think it turned out pretty darn good but with closer scrutiny there are a bunch of deeper scratches. My question is, are these scratches deep enough to be considered RIDS? I've hit them each probably 5-6 times now. Should I look to a more abrasive pad and/or compound? Should I wet sand them?

Also, ignore the rookie mistake of spraying the windshield with polish....lol

The hood has a bunch of pits and imperfections so again, I don't expect it to be perfect, but I want to learn as best I can before I move onto my crew cab long box GMC. (Working my way up to the new Civic and the Corvette.)

LSNAutoDetailing
04-29-2018, 01:03 AM