PDA

View Full Version : Lake Country pad failure

Pages : [1] 2 3

DMW
01-30-2018, 01:42 PM
I've been using Lake Country pads since 2012. I find them to be very durable and they work great. I've mainly been using the orange and green pads. I just bought a pack of 6 and one that I got was the most aggressive (yellow) pad. The 2008 VW Passat that I had this past weekend had extremely hard paint, so I gave it a try. It worked great with M105 and my Porter Cable set to 5.5. I rarely go over 5, but this paint needed some RPM.

I noticed it feeling a tad warm after an hour or so. Then, all of a sudden, the pad flew off the backing plate. I found that the black portion of the pad separated from the rest of the pad. My guess is that the glue warmed up and just let loose.

Has anyone else had this issue? Can I just glue it back, or is there any type of warranty? This is literally the first time I used it and for about 2 hours. Like mentioned above, I still have orange pads from 5+ years ago still going strong, so I was very surprised to see this one come apart.

Setec Astronomy
01-30-2018, 01:50 PM
You used the same pad for an hour straight? Is that what you do with the orange ones?

Ronin47
01-30-2018, 01:58 PM
I’ve had all 6 of my LC flat yellow 5.5” pads delaminate on me and switched to BnS flat yellow 5.5” without a single pad failure.

Route246
01-30-2018, 02:00 PM
What is the condition of the foam surface? I've had them overheat and shred chunks but never separate. If the surface is pristine and still intact I would say this may be a defective pad.

Bruno Soares
01-30-2018, 02:10 PM
If they were being used for more than an hour I bet the pads got too hot and the glue just failed. That seems like overuse, especially at higher RPMs like you mentioned. Heat is the #1 enemy of pads.

JCDetails
01-30-2018, 02:14 PM
no glue in the world would stand up to those temperatures.

Desertnate
01-30-2018, 02:34 PM