PDA

View Full Version : Steering wheel cleaning

Pages : [1] 2

cheekyage
01-20-2018, 09:35 AM
Hi all

Can anyone help me by passing on some product recommendations and advice on how to try and clean this steering wheel, or is it perhaps too far gone?

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180120/2cc7a7ef5673123b58ecc9783575f898.jpg

FUNX650
01-20-2018, 10:42 AM
•From what it looks like (at least from
my vantage point) that the steering
wheel is made from:

-Meguiar’s M40 would be my NO.1 classic
choice for cleaning/protection/remediation.

[Lest I forget: “Test Spot”
(as a “best practice”) ~M.P.]

Bob

davidc
01-20-2018, 10:50 AM
Mine looked kind of like that and maybe a little worse. I tried a few products that really did not help. I was at the point of pulling the wheel and sending it out to be recovered or buying one of those leather wraps but was not fond of the ridge it would leave at the posts. Collinite has a leather cleaner/wax so I tried it. I have been using it for a few years now and reapply as needed 3-6 Months to clean my oily grease so the problem does not reappear. I use a microfiber or yellow sponge applicator to apply. The wheel is as close to new as it is going to get without pulling it and recovering but the leather is soft and back to black again.

Dave

derass
01-20-2018, 03:53 PM
I've cleaned a couple of greasy / sticky steering wheels using a light APC dilution (I use OPC at 3:1) on a microfiber cloth. Wipe down a second microfiber damp with water to neutralize the APC. Then follow up with some kind of interior protectant (I use 303 AP). Maybe that last step is optional, you don't want a slippery steering wheel. I make sure to buff off the excess 303, and it hasn't been a problem for me.

davidc
01-20-2018, 04:20 PM