PDA

View Full Version : Paint Protection

Pages : [1] 2

MikadoWu
01-12-2018, 07:37 AM
Hello All,

I have been a NOVICE IMO car care guy for a long time. About 10 years ago I moved from the West Coast to Florida. A couple years ago, I learned that how I took care of my paint in Cali, does not work in Florida. I 20+ years of car ownership in Cali/Colorado, never had I had to have a car painted, Now in Florida, I have had 3 in 10 years. paint care is a whole different world.

We have 5 cars/trucks, that are Daily Drivers and live outside. I want them to Look good, but also be protected. From what I am reading, I need to but on a sealant, then layer a Poly Wax on top of that. 3 of my 5 cars are 2001's Firebirds/Trans Am, the paint still looks good, but was suggested not to use a ceramics, because there is some damage. Ceramic, after a painted is what I was told.
I had picked up a Griot's Starters Kits year, with the 6" orbital, as I ws told you really can not screw up with their stuff. Now I am ready to get a little more serious.

My questions are,

1. Are Professional Products THAT much better?
2. Sealants seem to last around a year, can you extended that if you are applying a Poly Wax every month or 2?
3. Are these cure for 2-3 days Sealants really worth it?

Any other suggestions for surviving the Florida Climate is appreciated.

ChrisT
01-12-2018, 10:38 AM
Living in southern Florida I’ve been very happy with Wolfgang Deep Gloss sealant. It also has just a 12 hour cure time. I apply it twice a year, before and after the summer months.

UV damage can be a sob down here without dedicated care. Severe oxidation and clear coat failure is evident everywhere on cars that are ignored.

davidc
01-12-2018, 10:39 AM
Optimum Car Wax. Protection, spray and easy to use without all the Chemistry. Optimum Wash and Wax Rinseless for washes.

Dave

MikadoWu
01-12-2018, 12:17 PM