PDA

View Full Version : My BMW 328I 2014 - Engine Bay

borderman01
12-01-2017, 03:36 PM
Hi all,
So would like to detail my BMW engine bay. I have read plenty here about the risk of using water from a hose to wash out APC used. But I have also understood the areas that need to be protected to avoid any issue. Big shot out to Nick McKees37 for the great article he wrote and also to Mike Philips as well. So my understanding is cover the alternator, air intake if exposed and any electrical plugs. My BMW has the air intake covered so I should be good there. I have included pics to show the areas of risk which will be covered that are circled in red. Just wanted to get your thoughts on anything I might be missing. Not that this is too dirty but good to know when it does. Thanks

oneheadlite
12-01-2017, 04:06 PM
Having cleaned a lot of BMW engines (tech by trade), all of the connectors you've shown are "weather pack" type connectors that stand up well to normal water pressure. I'd say stick to hose pressure and avoid direct high pressure (pressure washer) blasting and you'll be fine.

One thing to be careful of is getting water underneath the engine cover as that's where the ignition coils live. I've seen people get bit by water ingress down into the spark plug well from a thorough degrease and now you've got a misfire because water's sending the spark to the head instead of the spark plug.

You honestly might even be fine just doing a rinseless style wash with brushes and towels as they don't seem to get too dirty in city use.

Hope this helps.

JMak97008
12-01-2017, 04:25 PM
All of those exposed wire connections are safe to get wet...

I'd cover that alternator with a plastic bag or tin foil just to be safe, although when I haven't nothing has ever happened.